To the begining

Come and watch.
Friday, May. 03, 2002 ~ 4:31 p.m.

"A young couple had been travelling through the forest we were staying in at the time, and they probably wouldn't have caught the attention of our band leader if they had worn commoner's clothes. No one had warned them that wearing clothes of any class of nobility, including the minor nobility that they were, would draw unwanted attention.

"That was the first mistake. The second was travelling alone. I had become comfortable travelling out in the wilderness. Then again, I had all those people with me who cared for me.

"The day had started out so beautifully. There was the slightest breeze winding through the branches of the oak trees. If I remember correctly, I was leaning against the trunk of one of the larger trees in the area, watching the leaves dance, when one of the other young girls came over to me and whispered excitedly.

"'Come Rose. Come and watch.' Then she slipped quietly around the tree.

"Curious as I always have been, I followed her. She was laying against the cool grass watching the road below. I sank to the grass beside her and made myself comfortable, then looked to the road.

"The scene I saw there increased my curiosity until I was too caught up to stop watching no matter how much I wanted to. I watched as the hidden men drew closer on each side of the road. I watched as the couple approached, completely unaware of what they were riding into. I watched the men, our men, jump out onto the road, surrounding the couple and frightening the horses. The mare that the young Lady was riding almost seemed to scream as it turned sharply and bolted, throwing the Lady to the ground.

"I watched as two of the men quickly went to the Lady and pulled her up, holding her tightly so she couldn't run. The young Lord jumped down from his horse and ran towards her.

"If he had just stayed where he was, things would have turned out much better than they did, but he was scared for his wife. Instead, he fought a losing battle and watched with dead eyes as his wife was raped only a few feet from where he lay cooling. His dead eyes didn't even blink when they stripped him of all his valuables before heading back up the hill.

"My mind couldn't comprehend what I had seen. I did all I could think of to do.

"I ran."

<~ | ~>

Disclaimer
Notify List

All material contained on this site
Copyright (c)2002-2003 H. Stough