To the begining

In the beginning it was different.
Friday, May. 03, 2002 ~ 3:44 p.m.

The few candles scattered about the room barely gave off enough light for normal eyes to see clearly. Despite that, she sat infront of an old, worn vanity. The mirror was less than round. Its frame was splintered, the result of a long forgoten fight between long forgotten people. Her hair was still damp from the bath she took shortly after her return. She had dressed herself in one of her old hunting dresses.

She dusted off the film on the mirror and studied herself for a good long time. Her eyes no longer looked tired. They were brighter and more alive. Their colors were more vivid than ever before and she saw the wisdom in them. Her skin retained it's old fire, but her hair seemed all the more lovely. It was thicker, darker, shinier, and not a single strand misbehaved.

She was pleased with these changes in her appearance and wanted to try them out in the hunt, but that was going to have to wait. She cleared off the vanity top and reached into the bottom drawer at her side. It was cluttered, but after a short moment of digging, she pulled out what she was looking for.

The book was bound in black leather with a simple design on it's cover. It had an ancient feel to it, but the pages inside were clean. She had been saving it incase she ever regained her memory. It was where she had planned to write out her history, even though she had no hope of ever knowing it.

With the book in her hand, she made her way to the small table in the corner where she had always done all her writing. The quill and the sealed ink pot still sat where she left them last. She brushed the dust away and sat to begin her story.

"In the beginning it was different. In the beginning I knew. Then everything changed. I didn't know. My family was lost to me as was my past. The only thing I was left with was a partial name, Crystal Rose.

"I travelled as much as I could. Always searching, and always coming up empty. I had no idea that my family had all died in the far reaches of history. I had no idea how long I had been without them. And I had no idea how I could bring this knowledge back.

"It was pure accident that I discovered the solution, though I didn't know it at the time. All I knew then was that I was tired and that all of our kind need to sleep as I did from time to time. If I had known what it would bring back to me, I would have gone into the earth years ago.

"My name has been restored to me and with it, my past."

<~ | ~>

Disclaimer
Notify List

All material contained on this site
Copyright (c)2002-2003 H. Stough