To the begining

An Accident
Thursday, May. 09, 2002 ~ 5:31 p.m.

****For those of you interested (if you haven't seen already), I've added a NotifyList -here-.****

"I don't really remember how far I ran, or how long for that matter. I just remember almost collapsing at the base of a large tree. It had been dark for hours and I was exhausted. The air around me had cooled considerably, but I didn't notice. I only wept a moment before sinking into a dreamless sleep.

"By morning the same mystic that had warned the rest of them of my fragility had found me. He was seated close by when I woke, but made no move to come any closer until I allowed him to. I studied him for the first time before I said a word.

"He was older. Not much older than my father, and not so old that he seemed frail. I could tell that he once had deep black hair, but it had recently been painted gray by age. His eyes were intriguing. They were perhaps the purest blue I had ever seen; a sea of wisdom mixed with a youthful sparkle.

"He smiled at me then, a warm smile, and I couldn't help but smile back. That was his invitation to move closer to me. He moved his arm around my shoulder, comforting me as he spoke softly.

"'My child. You are still very innocent in the ways of the world, but I assure you that we are not always as we were yesterday. Yesterday was an accident and I am sorry that you had to witness it. You aren't yet ready to see everything the world offers. I warned them of that, and they've sheltered you from it.'

"I hadn't understood the day before and he wasn't offering much of an explanation. I'm afraid that my failure to understand caused me to lash out at the poor old man.

"'Yesterday was an accident? How was it an accident? Was it an accident that it happened, or an accident that I witnessed it?'

"'No, no child. What happened wasn't meant to happen. Things got out of control. I would have seen if the men were planning on doing what they did and I most certainly would have stopped it.'

"My mood had turned quite icy by then, 'I'm sure. The woman, did they kill her too?'

"'The woman is still alive. They left her on her own though and I sense that she has lost much of her will to live. I don't believe that she will live much longer.'

"'How could you even think that any of this is right?' I was furious. I was furious at the men for what they did. I was furious at myself for not seeing it sooner. I shrugged away from him and stood up to leave, but something held me where I was. My feet wouldn't move. I clenched my fists and turned to the old man. 'Just what . . . '

"He just held up his hand and my mouth froze. 'Quiet. I never pretended to think that what happened was right, and everyone involved has already been punished and warned. It won't happen again,' he paused and watched me a moment. 'You have a strong mind and quite a bit of power within you, but your power is untried and still very wild. I want you to come back, to learn from me. You have my word that yesterday will not be repeated. Will you come back to us?'

"My mind was spinning. He had known just what to say to get my attention and he knew not to give away too much information. I would have to go back with him to learn more about this 'power' he spoke of.

"My answer was barely audible, but I knew he heard the soft 'yes' because he smiled and took my hand. 'Thank you my child.'"

<~ | ~>

Disclaimer
Notify List

All material contained on this site
Copyright (c)2002-2003 H. Stough